Super Bowl; It’s the Law

Lest I lose my American citizenship, I have to show some kind of interest in the Super Bowl. Since I can easily watch the ads on youtube, I chose to cook.

In the past I’ve contributed manly menu items like chili or cassoulet (yes, French but redeemed by excessive use of sausage). This year I made spare ribs marinated in whatever spicy, sweet, tangy stuff I could find in the cabinet–some mixture of pineapple vinegar, soy sauce, honey, and green tabasco.

I also used it as an excuse to experiment for next week’s CHoW meeting–Inventing the American Restaurant. I considered Durgin Park’s Indian Pudding (too weird and don’t want to schlep vanilla ice cream) and Parker House Rolls (obvious and it was a hotel), and settled on Horn and Hardart.

It will either be the Macaroni and Cheese…

Yes, that's a salad in the background, but it's full of anchovies and parmesan

or the Hermits

chewy and spicy

After the halftime show, I’m outta here.

About Appetite for Books

read, cook, eat, repeat
This entry was posted in holidays, novelty, what's for dinner and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Super Bowl; It’s the Law

  1. Pingback: Super bowl its the law appetite for books  Legal Resource Blog | 2011

  2. Frank de Paola says:

    Did you remember that your paternal grandfather worked for Horn and Hardart for more than thirty years and brought home day-old cakes , pies and cookies every Friday night without fail. Those were the days !

Leave a Reply

