2012 Soul Food Cook-off

To kick off Black History Month, the diversity crowd at my office organized a soul food cook-off this past Friday. I’m never one to pass up a food event, but at first I demurred. How could I possibly compete against generations of grandmother’s recipes and cooks who have refined their secret barbecue sauce?

But as pointed out in the opening remarks, everyone has their soul food, so I signed up to do greens the Italian way–chard and escarole with garlic, lemon, olive oil, and hot pepper flakes.

the competition was a squash and greens risotto, kale with soy and honey, and kale with almonds and raisins--all delicious

I thought I had a chance, especially goosing my entry with a homemade focaccia, but the judges didn’t agree. Nevertheless, I had a great time taste testing the other entries–macaroni and cheese (one with lobster), chicken (smoked and jerked and in Brunswick Stew), and sweet potato desserts (winning sweet potato spice cupcakes and a Portuguese cookie).

contestant number 3 didn't go home quite empty-handed

But my real prize came when a fellow Italian-American contestant tasted my entry and said with a swooning eye-roll, “These taste just like my grandmothers!”

Still, it would have been nice to get one of these...

About Appetite for Books

read, cook, eat, repeat
This entry was posted in history, holidays, international and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

